How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

When you hear the word PlayStation, all the fond memories of playing games with your friends on a console start gathering in your mind. Video games have come a long way. From computers to virtual reality, gamers have experienced enormous changes in the ways games are played over the last few years. And PlayStation is no exception, always looking to up the ante by upgrading its hardware. The results of the hard work the Sony Computer Entertainment team put in paid off with the development of PlayStation 4 (PS4). A home gaming console enables players to deep dive into the virtual gaming world. You might have shared your PlayStation Network account with your friends or logged in to their console but forgot to log out, and for some reason, you wish to remove account from PS4 of your friend. We are providing you with this helpful guide that will teach you how to remove PSN account from another PS4 or delete a user on PS4.

How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

You can remove your PS4 account from another PS4 through the Account Management settings on the PS4 console and Security settings from the PSN website. Keep reading to learn more methods in detail with helpful illustrations for better understanding.

How Do I Unlink My PS4 Account from Another PS4?

You might have had an amazing game night at your friend’s house because you were the life of the party for having the most expensive games on your PSN account. But, unfortunately, forgot to log out of your account on their PS4? We feel you but worry not. There are multiple methods to remove or ban PSN account from another PS4. Take a look at the methods given below and find out which works best for you:

Method 1: Deactivate Account

You can deactivate the account which is active on your friend’s PS4 from your own PS4 console. Follow the steps below to perform the steps correctly.

1. Select the Settings option on your PS4.

Select Settings from the main menu

2. Enter Account Management.

Enter Account Management

3. Choose the Activate as Your Primary PS4 option.

Choose the Activate as Your Primary PS4 option | How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

4. Hit the Deactivate option.

Hit the Deactivate option | How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

5. Restart your PS4 to implement the change.

Also Read: How Can You Change Your Email on PS4

Method 2: Change Password

Follow the steps listed below to change the password of your target PSN account.

1. Head over to the Sony Entertainment Network Sign In page and Sign In using your Playstation account.

2. Click on Security from the left pane, as shown below.

Click on Security from the left pane | How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

3. Adjacent to Password, click on Edit.

Adjacent to Password, click on Edit

4. Enter your Current and New Passwords.

5. Then, click on the Save option.

Hit the Save button.

6. Finally, click OK.

Finally, click OK

You will be redirected to the login page and you will be signed out from wherever your account was logged in.

Method 3: Sign Out of All Devices

You can also sign out of all the devices from where you once signed in and forgot to sign out. Read and follow the steps below to do just that:

1. Go to the Sony Entertainment Network website.

2. Sign In using your PSN account credentials.

3. Click on the Security option under Account from the left pane, as shown below.

Click-on-the-Security-option-under-Account-PS4 | How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

4. Click on Sign Out on All Devices option, as highlighted.

sign-out-on-all-devices-PS4

5. Lastly, click OK in the popup to confirm.

Click OK to confirm

Also Read: Fix PS4 Controller Won’t Connect to Console

How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4?

Is your friend using your PSN account to play your games against your will? And you must be looking for a way to remove PSN account from another PS4. Try out the method given below to remove account from PS4:

1. Select the Settings option and select Account Management as shown below.

Enter Account Management

2. Now select the Activate as Your Primary PS4 > Deactivate options.

Hit the Deactivate option

3. Finally, restart your PS4 to implement the saved changes.

How to Remove Account from PS4 Without Deleting It?

Unfortunately, Sony does not provide an option to remove an account from PS4 without deleting it. Deleting a user account removes the account and all of its data from that specific console too. If you wish to remove an account from your PS4, you have no choice but to delete the account from your console.

How to Kick Someone Off My PSN Account?

If someone has access to your PSN account and is misusing it or using it without your consent, we have good news for you. Have a look at the steps below:

1. Visit the Sony Entertainment Network Sign In page on your browser.

2. Sign In using your PSN account credentials.

3. Click on Security > Edit for the Password option.

Adjacent to Password, click on Edit

4. Enter your Current Password and New Password in the respective fields.

5. Then, click on the Save option.

Hit the Save button. | How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

6. Click on OK to complete the password-changing process successfully. You will be taken to the login page and will be logged out from all the devices you were signed in to.

Also Read: How Many Times Can You Get Banned on PS4

How to Delete a User on PS4?

Stacked with unwanted users on your PS4 or are some of them no longer in use and are waiting to be discarded? We drop you an effortless solution to your problem. Follow the step-by-step guide given below to learn how to delete a user on PS4:

Note: This method will remove all the existing data about the user from your PS4.

1. Open the Settings menu on your PS4.

2. Select Login Settings from the list.

Select Login Settings

3. Select User Management.

User Management

4. A list of signed-in accounts will be displayed. Choose the desired user you would like to delete.

5. Select Delete User to remove access to the user account.

Delete User

6. Finally, choose Delete to remove this user account from PS4.

Delete to remove this user account from PS4

The user will get removed from your PS4 and you can continue to have a pleasant gaming experience. It is handy if your user list is full and you wish to add another user to your PS4.

Also Read: How Do You Permanently Delete PS4 Messages

How Do You Delete PSN Account Without the Password?

In case you forgot the password of your PSN account and have no clue as to how you can delete your PSN account, you need not worry. Many users face this issue and we have a pretty straightforward solution to your problem. Follow the steps mentioned below to delete your PSN account without remembering your password.

1. Open the Settings menu and choose the Login Settings option.

2. Choose the User Management option, as shown below.

User Management

3. Select the desired user from the list displayed to you.

4. Choose the Delete User > Delete option to remove access to the user account.

Delete to remove this user account from PS4 | How Do I Remove My PSN Account from Another PS4

What Will Happen If I Delete My Main Account from PS4?

If you decide to get rid of your PSN account, there are two situations that could occur. Following are the effects and causes:

  • If you delete your user from your PS4, the data will be retained by the servers and you can still log in to your account whenever you wish to.
  • If you deleted the account from the PlayStation servers, all data and information related to your PSN account including your games, purchases, etc, will be vanished and will not be retrievable. You will have to create a new account to play games.

Can You Delete the Account After Game Sharing PS4?

Yes, it is possible to delete the account after sharing games on PS4. Once you delete an account but have it activated as a primary user on another PS4, the games are restored by the servers and are still accessible on the other PS4. However, if you delete your PSN account permanently from the servers, all your data will be lost and the account will be inaccessible.

Recommended:

We hope that this guide was helpful and you were able to learn how to remove PSN account from another PS4. Feel free to reach out to us with your queries and suggestions via the comments section below. Let us know what topic you want to learn about in our next article. 

Posted by

Pete Mitchell

Pete is a Senior staff writer at TechCult. Pete loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has a decade of experience writing how-tos, features, and technology guides on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *