Instagram has quite a craze among all generations. You can easily find young ones to older people trying out their hand on Instagram’s new features like camera filters, reels, sending DMs, etc. If you are curious about these features and seek to know more about Instagram, you are at the right place. We are here to enlighten you on how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram story and how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM.
- How to Know If Someone Restricted You on Instagram Story
- What Happens When Someone Restricts You On Instagram?
- If Someone Restricts Me On Instagram, Can I See Their Story?
- If someone Restricts You On Instagram, Can You See Their Likes?
- If Someone Restricted Me On Instagram, Can I Still Message Them?
- How to Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram?
- What If They’re Not Following You Back?
- What If They Don’t Have a Profile Picture?
- How to Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram Story or DM?
How to Know If Someone Restricted You on Instagram Story
Getting restricted on any social media platform is not fun, but you have to confirm that case first before acting out. You can easily start it by checking it from your own Instagram account with the steps for it listed later in this article. Keep reading to know about it more!
What Happens When Someone Restricts You On Instagram?
There are a few points you can check on how to know if someone restricts you on Instagram story or DM:
- You will no longer be able to see their active status in direct messages. Whether they are online or not, you will be devoid of that knowledge.
- Your direct messages to them will either lie unread or in their message request, hence pending.
- Your comments on their posts will only be visible to them and you.
Yes, even if someone has restricted you on Instagram, you can still see their story. The restriction does not stop you from viewing the person’s profile, story, or videos.
Yes, the restriction does not stop a restricted Instagram user from viewing profiles, likes, and comments. You can see likes on someone’s post even if they have restricted your account.
Yes, if someone restricts you on Instagram, you can still message them. Restricted users can see the profile of the others, just like any other Instagram user. They can also send direct messages to the person who has restricted them. The only catch is that your message will go straight to the requests section of the direct messages, or you won’t know if they have read your messages or not.
How to Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram?
Checking if someone restricted you on Instagram is very easy. There are a couple of ways in which you can check it.
- You can use a mutual friend’s account to see if the other user has restricted you or not. If restricted, the mutual user won’t be able to see your comment on the post of the user who has restricted you.
- You can also check it by sending the user a direct message, as your message will lie on the message request section of the user and hence, no reply from them.
What If They’re Not Following You Back?
Instagram itself does not notify you about unfollowing activities from followers, but you can always use a third-party application to check it. You can also get the answer for how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram story by checking if they’re following you or not in the first place.
1. Open the Instagram app.
2. Tap on the Profile icon from the bottom right corner.
3. Now, tap on Followers.
4. Type the name of the desired profile in the Search bar.
5. If they don’t follow you back, No users found result will show up.
What If They Don’t Have a Profile Picture?
If an Instagram user does not have a profile picture, it means:
- They have not uploaded one.
- Due to personal/privacy reasons, they have decided to stay anonymous from the other users.
How to Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram Story or DM?
If someone has restricted you on the Instagram story, you will not be notified about it. How to know if someone restricted you on Instagram story is easy. All you need is the help mutual friend on Instagram. If they can see the other person’s story whereas you cannot, then it is certain that the person has restricted you from viewing their story. If you are looking for how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM, then you can check it by:
- Direct messaging the user.
- If they have not responded to your message and are simultaneously active on their feed, then there is a possibility that they have restricted you.
You can learn more about restricted and unrestricted accounts on Instagram from the Instagram help page.
- Fix Unfortunately Messaging Has Stopped Error on Android
- How to Recover Deleted Instagram Account
- How to Check Instagram Highlights Views
- How to Read Instagram Messages Without Being Seen
We hope that you learned how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram story. Feel free to reach out to us with your queries and suggestions via the comments section below. Let us know what you want to learn about next.