How Can You Deactivate PS3 Account

How Can You Deactivate PS3 Account

Sony Computer Entertainment created the PlayStation 3 (PS3), a home video gaming device. It belongs to the PlayStation brand of gaming systems and is the PlayStation 2’s successor. Towards E3 in 2005, the console was first formally unveiled. It was then made available at the end of 2006. Being the first system to do so, Play Station 3 used Blu-ray Disk advanced technologies as its main storage device. It was also the first PlayStation console to be remotely controllable from a handheld device, thanks to its remote connectivity with PlayStation Portable and PlayStation Vita. But now, some users want to deactivate all PS3 systems. Stay tuned till the end to learn the steps to deactivate PS3 that you no longer have. This guide will help you understand that in-depth to make the procedure of deactivating PS3 account easy for you. Let’s begin!

How Can You Deactivate PS3 Account

How Can You Deactivate PS3 Account

The PlayStation 3 was the first home system to allow users to connect to the internet and communicate with others while playing. This was made available over the PlayStation Network. You may play games available on the internet, buy and download games and music, and transfer digital games to the PSP via the PS3. The PlayStation Network, which is available on the PS3, provides a wide range of features today, including online video and game subscriptions. And it is also entirely free to use. Using a function dubbed Remote Play, you can remotely access the PS3 system settings from the PSP. Additionally, according to Phil Harrison, rather than only using the nearby wireless connection, the PSP will shortly be able to reach the PS3’s hard drive from any Wi-Fi location around the world. Although this isn’t precisely a seductive discovery, it does demonstrate two points:

  • A normal hard drive is a foundation around which Sony has built the overall structure.
  • The PS3 is the closest video gaming console to a desktop/PC so far.

Continue reading to learn the steps to deactivate PS3 account in detail.

Can You Deactivate a PS3 Account?

Yes, you can deactivate your Play Station 3 (PS3) account. Play Station 3 (PS3) account can be deleted using Play Station 3 (PS3) console or your computer. The only way to release one of those 5 activations is to manually deactivate it from the account administration page. Utilizing your computer or the XMB, Sony PlayStation 3 game consoles can be turned off. You can choose to erase your account of all your devices at once, or you can cancel any movie or game purchases that are associated with your account.

How to Deactivate a PS3 Account?

Here is how you can deactivate Play Station 3 (PS3) account from your PS3 console:

Note: Make sure you are signed in to your PS3 account which you want to deactivate.

1. From your XrossMediaBar (XMB) screen, select PlayStation Network.

2. Select Account Management.

From your XrossMediaBar (XMB) screen, select PlayStation Network - Select Account Management

3. Go to System Activation.

Go to System Activation

4. Select the PS3 System option.

Note: If you have activated multiple Play Station 3 (PS3) systems, there may be more than one Play Station 3 (PS3). So double-check to be sure you have selected the appropriate one.

Select the PS3 System option

5. Select Game, as shone below.

Note: You can also select the Video later to deactivate the account for both uses.

Select Game | deactivate all PS3 systems

6. Then, select Deactivate System. Your PS3 account will get deactivated instantly. 

select Deactivate System

After this, you won’t be able to access any games or videos on this Playstation Network account.

Also Read: How to Deactivate Suspended PlayStation Account

How Can You Deactivate PS3 That You No Longer Have?

Below are the steps to deactivate PS3 that you no longer have:

1. Open the PlayStation Account & Security page on your desktop browser and click on Sign In.

PlayStation Account & Security page

2. Sign in with your Sign-In ID (Email Address) and Password.

Sign-In with your Sony ID first and then Password on the next click.

3. Click on the Profile icon > Account Settings, as shown.

Profile icon - Account Settings

4. Click on Device Management under Other Settings from the left pane.

Click on Device Management under Other Settings from the left pane | deactivate all PS3 systems | | deactivating PS3 account

5. Now, click on Deactivate All Devices option under How to Activate or Deactivate, as shown.

Deactivate All Devices

How to Properly Deactivate a PS3 System from a PSN Account?

Let’s see the steps to properly deactivate PS3 system from a PSN account:

1. Select PlayStation Network from the home screen of your PS3.

2. Select Account Management > System Activation.

Go to System Activation

3. Choose PS3 System > Game, as shone below.

Note: You can also select the Video later to deactivate the account for both uses.

4. Lastly, select the Deactivate System option to deactivate the PS3 system. 

select Deactivate System

Also Read: Can You Login to Your PS4 Account on Another PS4?

How Can You Deactivate a PS3 System without the System?

You can deactivate a PS3 without the system itself from your PSN account. Follow the upcoming steps to learn how you can do it.

1. Open the PlayStation Account & Security page on your desktop browser and click on Sign In.

PlayStation Account & Security page | How Can You Deactivate PS3 Account

2. Sign in with your Sign-In ID (Email Address) and Password.

3. Click on the Profile icon.

4. Click on Account Settings.

5. Click on Device Management > Deactivate All Devices options, as shown.

Deactivate All Devices

How Can You Remotely Deactivate a PS3?

Here is how you can remotely deactivate PlayStation 3 (PS3) system:

1. Navigate to the PlayStation Account & Security page on your desktop browser and click on Sign In.

2. Sign in with your Sign-In ID (Email Address) and Password.

3. Click on the Profile icon > Account Settings, as shown.

Profile icon - Account Settings | deactivate all PS3 systems

4. Click on Device Management under Other Settings from the left pane.

Click on Device Management under Other Settings from the left pane | deactivating PS3 account

5. Lastly, click on Deactivate All Devices.

Also Read: How to Deactivate OfferUp Account

What Happens If You Deactivate All PS3 Systems?

If you deactivate all your PlayStation 3 (PS3) systems, your account on the PS3 system will get deleted. Your history, videos and games, and all the content accessed will be gone permanently. The PlayStation Network, which is available on the PS3, provides a wide range of features today, including online video and game subscriptions. All of this would get permanently deleted if you deactivate all your PlayStation 3 (PS3) systems.

Can You Deactivate Your PS3 Account from a Computer?

Yes, you can deactivate your PS3 account from a computer. You will have to visit the PlayStation Account & Security page on your desktop browser to sign in and access the PSN account.

PlayStation Account & Security page

Also Read: Can You Apply for DoorDash After Being Deactivated?

How Can You Deactivate Your PS5 Account?

All PS5 profiles can be deactivated using the settings menu on your PS5. You will just go the Settings section and make a few adjustments to deactivate accounts during this procedure. Here’s how you can deactivate your PS5 account.

1. Switch on your PS5.

2. Access the Settings section and head over to Users and Accounts.

Head over to Users and Accounts | deactivate all PS3 systems

3. Choose on Other.

4. Next, enter Console Sharing and Offline Play option as depicted below.

select Other - Console Sharing and Offline Play

5. Choose Disable.

Choose Disable

Recommended:

We hope that this guide was helpful and you learned how can you be deactivating PS3 account. Feel free to reach out to us with your queries and suggestions via the comments section below. Let us know what topic you want to learn about in our next article.

Posted by
Pete Mitchell

Pete is a Senior staff writer at TechCult. Pete loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has a decade of experience writing how-tos, features, and technology guides on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.