Home » How to Unadd People on Snapchat

How to Unadd People on Snapchat

  • by
  • 7 min read

Snapchat is a popular app that helps you share pictures and videos instantly. You can easily add your family and friends on Snapchat by entering their names in the search box and sending them a request. But the problem arises when you are willing to remove a contact from Snapchat. 

Although Snapchat is a great platform to remain in contact with your friends. Often you need to refresh your contact list and delete old friends from Snapchat. However, not everyone knows exactly how to remove people on Snapchat.

If you are someone looking for tips about how to remove or block friends on Snapchat, you have reached the right page. We have brought you a complete guide that will answer all your queries about how to unadd people on Snapchat. You must read till the end to understand each method and adopt the best out of them as per your preferences.

How to Unadd People on Snapchat?

Things to do before removing a Contact on Snapchat 

You don’t want the contact you are removing to send you messages. Hence, you need to edit your Privacy Settings. This will make sure that your removed friend is not able to send you texts. 

1. Open Snapchat and tap on your Bitmoji Avatar available on the top left corner of your screen. 

Open Snapchat and tap on your Bitmoji Avatar to get a list of options.  | How to Unadd People on Snapchat?

2. Now, tap on the “Settings” icon available in the top right corner. You need to find the “Who Can…” section on the next screen.

tap on the Settings icon available in the top right corner. | How to Unadd People on Snapchat

3. Tap on “Contact me” and change it from “Everyone” to “My Friends“. 

You need to find the Who Can... section on the next screen.     Tap on Contact me and change it from Everyone to My Friends. | How to Unadd People on Snapchat

Additionally, you can also change “View my story” to “Friends only“. This will ensure that your removed friend is unable to see your future stories.

How to Unadd People on Snapchat

If you need to unadd a person on your Snapchat, you have two options for doing so. You can either remove them as your friend or block them. If you remove them, there are chances that the person can send you a request again. However, blocking a person will restrict your contact to see your profile even if they enter your username. In both cases, your friends won’t be notified that they are being removed from your Friends list.

Method 1: How to Remove a Friend on Snapchat 

1. Open Snapchat and tap on your Bitmoji Avatar. Go to “My Friends” and select the person you wish to remove as your friend. 

Go to My Friends and select the person you wish to remove as your friend.  | How to Unadd People on Snapchat?

2. Now, tap and hold the contact name to get options then tap on “More” from the available options.

Tap on More from the available options. | How to Unadd People on Snapchat

3. Finally, tap on “Remove Friend” and press Remove when it asks for confirmation. 

Finally, tap on Remove Friend   press Remove when it asks for confirmation.  | How to Unadd People on Snapchat

This way you will be able to unadd people on Snapchat.

Method 2: How to Block a Friend on Snapchat 

1. Open Snapchat and tap on your Bitmoji Avatar. Go to My Friends and select the contact you want to block.

2. Now, tap and hold the contact name to get options then tap on “More” from the available options.

3. Select Block from the available options and again tap Block on the confirmation box.

Select Block from the available options | How to Unadd People on Snapchat?     tap Block on the confirmation box.

That’s it! Hope you are able to unadd people on Snapchat.

How to Unblock a Friend on Snapchat?

Further, you should be aware of the method to unblock your friend on Snapchat. In case, later you decide to unblock a friend, you can follow the below-given steps:

1. Open Snapchat and tap on your Bitmoji Avatar. Go to Settings by tapping on the Settings icon present in the top right corner.

2. Scroll down to “Account Actions” and tap on the “Blocked” option. A list of your block contacts will be displayed. Tap on the “X” sign adjacent to the contact you wish to unblock. 

Scroll down to Account Actions and tap on the Blocked option. | How to Unadd People on Snapchat?   Tap on the X sign adjacent to the contact you wish to unblock. | How to Unadd People on Snapchat

Can you delete multiple friends at once?

Snapchat does not provide you with a direct option to delete multiple friends at once. However, you can deactivate your account and start with a fresh Snapchat account without any previous records. Please note that this method will delete all your chats, snap scores, best friends, and ongoing snap streaks. 

You need to visit Snapchat Account Portal and sign in with your login credentials. You will not be able to login into your account for 30 days. In the meantime, no one will be able to chat or share snaps with you. After this period, you can create a fresh account on Snapchat. This will remove all your previously added friends on Snapchat. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1. Can your friend observe that you have removed them on Snapchat?

Although your friend won’t be notified when you remove them as your friend, they can notice the same when their sent snaps are displayed as “Pending” in the chats section.

Q2. What happens when you remove or block friends on Snapchat?

When you remove a friend, the contact will be removed from your friend list. However, you will be displayed on their friend list. But when you block a friend on Snapchat, they will not be able to find you and you won’t be able to find them.

Q3. Is there a way to Unadd everyone on Snapchat?

Yes, you can delete your account and after 30 days create a new account with no previous records. However, there is no direct option of removing everyone on Snapchat.

Recommended:

We hope this guide was helpful and you were able to unadd people on Snapchat. Still, if you have any doubts then feel free to ask them in the comment section.

nv-author-image

Pete Mitchell

Pete is a Senior staff writer at TechCult. Pete loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has a decade of experience writing how-tos, features, and technology guides on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *