How to Know If Someone Uninstalled WhatsApp

Spill the secret whether you're on mute or your friend has waved a goodbye to the messaging platform!

Conversations, laughter, moments, and memories, WhatsApp witnesses it all. However, amidst all the unpaused conversations, have you been waiting for a reply from your friend but the chat seems to have gone quite in suspense? No online or last seen stamp, no profile picture, is it a case of inactivity, temporary ghosting, or uninstallation? Let’s discuss it in today’s article on how to know if someone uninstalled WhatsApp. 

How to Know If Someone Uninstalled WhatsApp

How to Know If Someone Uninstalled WhatsApp

Sometimes it’s mere restlessness trying to contact someone on the instant messaging platform with an uncertainty of whether they are actually online or not. Unfortunately, for sure there is no foolproof way to confirm that, there are some helpful indicators that can give you a better idea.

  • Ask them Directly: It’s the most reliable way. Instead of assuming, you can just reach out to the person on any other social media platform or call them and enquire if they’ve uninstalled WhatsApp.  
  • Last Seen Timestamp: Observe the person’s last seen timestamp and if you notice that it remains unchanged for an extended period, it could indicate that they’re no longer using the app. 
  • Undelivered Messages: As you know, WhatsApp reflects whether the message has been successfully sent, received, and read unless read receipts are turned off by the sender or recipient. If your messages have been with a single checkmark for quite some days now, then indeed they aren’t reaching the recipient’s device. Hence, they might have uninstalled the app.

WhatsApp messages

  • Profile Picture and Status: If they haven’t changed their profile picture or uploaded any status for a while or there is no profile picture at all, it could suggest that they’re no longer using WhatsApp. However, it is also possible that they have hidden their profile picture in privacy settings.
  • Calls Go Unanswered: Call them on WhatsApp and if they consistently go unanswered and don’t even ring on their end, it could suggest they’re unavailable on WhatsApp.
  • Send WhatsApp Invite Link: This might be a definite sign that they have uninstalled WhatsApp. When someone deletes their account, an Invite option appears next to their name in the WhatsApp contacts list. If you find the same next to the person, that means they have deleted their account and have uninstalled the app.

whatsapp invite link

Will My Contacts Know If I Uninstall WhatsApp?

No, not necessarily. WhatsApp does not directly notify users when someone in their contact list uninstalls the app. So, it might be difficult for them to ascertain the same. However, the above-mentioned indicators can provide them with an idea about your absence on WhatsApp.

Also Read: Can You Recover Deleted Photos on WhatsApp?

What Happens When You Uninstall WhatsApp?

Well, obviously when you uninstall WhatsApp, the app gets removed from the device and frees up some RAM. However, you do not lose your WhatsApp images, videos, documents, or any other downloaded data. All of it remains saved in the device’s internal or external memory.

What happens when you uninstall WhatsApp

Apart from that, here are a few things that happen such as:

  • You will not receive messages or calls from your contacts on WhatsApp unless you’re using it on any other device, such as a PC.
  • WhatsApp does not delete your account unless you do it manually before uninstalling. So, your profile will remain visible to your contacts on the app. 
  • If you have a backup saved on the cloud or device storage, you can easily restore your chats after you reinstall WhatsApp. All you need is to use the same phone number as earlier.
  • Depending on the privacy settings, users may also be able to see your profile picture, status, and last seen.
  • All the blocked numbers on WhatsApp remain as they are.

Also Read: How to Restore WhatsApp Messages Without Backup on Android Phone

If I Uninstall WhatsApp Will I Be Removed From Groups?

No, uninstalling WhatsApp will not remove you from any WhatsApp group. You only get removed from groups when you manually exit it or delete your account completely. 

We hope this article helped you know if someone uninstalled WhatsApp. If you have any queries or suggestions for us, do let us know in the comments section. For more such tips and tricks, stay tuned to TechCult.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *