How to Delete Upwork Account

How to Delete Upwork Account

Upwork is an employment platform that focuses more on freelance culture rather than on traditional jobs. Freelancing allows greater freedom regarding work hours and job selection. However, it can soon become exhausting doing multiple gigs and uncertainty of work and income, along with other concerns such as not having a distraction-free workspace, focus issues, deadline pressure, and so on. Also, Upwork takes a up to 20% commission on your earnings, which is not a good offer for most people. If you are wondering how to delete your Upwork account, you are at the right place. We bring to you a perfect guide that will help you with how to delete Upwork account.

How to Delete Upwork Account

How to Delete Upwork Account

Upwork is one of the best platforms to find a variety of freelancing work as small as one hour of work or large continuous projects. But the main drawback to Upwork is that it keeps charging a commission from the money you earn. Therefore, you can opt to cancel your Upwork account and pursue other freelancing opportunities through different freelancing platforms. People are becoming more conscious of the protection of their data and their online digital footprint. Your Upwork account is connected to a lot of personal data, such as your work preferences, resume, and contact information. You should delete your account if you no longer use their services to get rid of all your personal information from their server.

  • The account deletion process is super quick and easy. Just make sure there are no outstanding or open activities/contracts, or else you won’t be able to delete the account. Also, cancel all proposals, if any.
  • However, you don’t need to delete your account if you want to change the availability of your Upwork account or make your profile private. To learn more about this, scroll down and skip the process of how to delete Upwork account permanently.

Note: Before you delete your account, make sure to withdraw all of your hard-earned money to a safe bank and back up all of your important information and data. You will lose access to all of your information and database once you delete the account.

Following are the steps to delete your Upwork account.

1. Log in to your Upwork account.

2. In the top right corner, click on your profile image.

go to upwork website and click on profie image

3. Next, select Settings.

click on settings. How to Delete Upwork Account

4. Navigate to the Contact Info section.

select contact info

5. Select Close my account.

click on close my account. How to Delete Upwork Account

6. Choose a reason to start the account deletion procedure.

provide a reason and click on close my account

7. Finally, click the Close Account button.

Thus, this is how to permanently delete my Upwork account.

Also Read: How to Recover a Deleted Google Doc from Google Drive

How to Turn Off Availability of Upwork account

If you want to change the availability of your account, then there’s no need to perform the above method of how to delete Upwork account permanently. By keeping the Availability visible, you will be seen on the list of clients/recruiters and Upwork’s search engine, as well as on the marketplace. If you already have enough work and want to stop taking additional work, then it’s a better idea to turn off your visibility. Here’s how to do that:

1. Click on your profile picture in the top right corner.

go to upwork website and click on profie image

2. Then click on Settings.

click on settings. How to Delete Upwork Account

3. Click on My Profile.

click on my profile

4. Next to the Available now indicator, click on the pencil icon.

click on the pencil icon

5. Click on Turn Off.

click on turn off. How to Delete Upwork Account

6. Provide a reason and click on Turn Off.

select a reason and click on turn off

Also Read: How to Delete Profiles on Hulu

How to Set Upwork Profile to Private

If your profile is set to public, then it is available to the general public, Upwork’s marketplace, as well as on Google and other search engines, in short, all over the web. By making it private, only prior clients with whom you have worked and to whom you have submitted a proposal will be able to see your profile. If you do not want to permanently delete my Upwork account then you can change your profile to private, follow these steps:

1. Click on your profile picture in the top right corner.

go to upwork website and click on profie image

2. Then click on Settings.

click on settings. How to Delete Upwork Account

3. Go to Profile Settings.

go to profile settings

4. Under the Visibility drop-down menu, select Private.

choose private from visibility drop down menu. How to Delete Upwork Account

Note: Any changes regarding availability or from public to private processes may take up to one week to fully alter the settings.

In addition to the public and private profile types, there is a third option called Only Upwork Users. This type only allows those who have logged in to see your profile, and hides it from search engines.

Recommended:

We hope that this guide was helpful for you to figure out how to delete Upwork account. Let us know which method worked for you best. If you have any queries or suggestions, then feel free to drop them in the comments section below.

Posted by
Elon Decker

Elon is a tech writer at TechCult. He's been writing how-to guides for about 6 years now and has covered many topics. He loves to cover topics related to Windows, Android, and the latest tricks and tips.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.