How to Delete Messages on Google Chat

How to Delete Messages on Google Chat

Google Chat is a communication service developed by Google, the world-famous American tech company. Google has a lot of services to offer, of which google chat is one. While Google Chat is a successor of Google Hangouts and was formerly known as Hangouts chat. On Google Chat, users can send or receive messages with the help of the internet, and these messages can be either images, videos, text, or any document which you want to send. It also allows us to make groups and have conservation with users in the group and also makes users make voice and video calls. Google Chat lets you hide and delete conservation; if the person goes out of line while having a conversation, you can block them. If you are someone who has shifted to Google Chat and while having a chat with someone on Google Chat, you accidentally send some text or image or such message that you are not supposed to send in that case you can delete them but don’t know how to delete messages on Google Chat, this article will guide you in steps with that. It will also help you know how you can edit message in Google Chat and the difference between Google Chat and Google Hangouts.

How to Delete Messages on Google Chat

How to Delete Messages on Google Chat

Keep reading further to find the steps explaining how to delete messages on Google Chat in detail with useful illustrations for better understanding.

Note: Since smartphones do not have the same Settings options, they vary from manufacturer to manufacturer. Hence, ensure the correct settings before changing any on your device.

What’s the Difference Between Google Chat and Google Hangouts?

Google Chat is a successor to Google Hangouts. As Google Hangouts is no more accessible all the users using it are shifted to Google Chat. Google Chat and Google Hangouts both are messaging applications that allowed users to make calls and send messages anywhere in the world. On Hangouts, users can send messages even when offline for which the charges are deducted as per the tariff plan but on Google Chat that is not possible because it uses the internet to send messages and make voice and video calls. Google Chat is more advanced and makes it convenient for users to interact with other Google services as compared to Google Hangouts. The final difference between Google chat and Google Hangouts is that Google Chat is alive while Google Hangouts is dead.

Google Chat website

Does the Message Disappear If You Delete a Message on Google Chat?

Yes, messages disappear on Google Chat if you delete them. Messages once deleted cannot be restored as deleting messages is a permanent action. Only the users with a Google Workspace account gets the option to delete a single message in the conversation and the deleted message is removed from everyone in the chat but leaves a timestamp notifying that the message was deleted. For others, there is no such option and to delete a single message they need to delete the whole conversation which only gets deleted from one side.

How to Edit Message in Google Chat?

To know how to edit message in Google chat, follow these steps:

Note: Users with Google Workspace account gets the Edit option.

1. Open the Google Chat app on your phone.

Open the Google chat app on your device.

2. Tap on the desired conversation.

Tap on the conversation of your choice.

3. Tap and hold the desired message you’ve sent to select it.

Select the message you’ve sent then tap and hold the message.

4. From the popup menu, tap on the Edit option.

5. Make changes in the message and tap on the Send option.

This is how can you edit message in Google Chat.

Also Read: How to Unsend Messages on Instagram

How Do You Delete a Message in Google Chat? How to Delete Messages on Google Chat?

To know how to delete messages on Google chat, follow these methods:

Method 1: Delete Conversation

To delete the whole conversation which you sent or received messages, you can follow these steps:

1. Launch the Google Chat app on your device.

2. Tap on the desired conversation > Username from the top.

Tap on the name of the user at the top.

3. Tap on the Delete conversation option.

Tap on the Delete conversation option.

4. Tap on Delete from the popup to delete all the chat messages.

Tap on Delete from the dialog box that appeared on the screen to delete all the messages of the chat. | How to Delete Messages on Google Chat

Method 2: Turn On Automatic Delete After 24 Hours

To delete messages by disabling the history option, you can follow these steps:

1. Open the Google chat app and tap on the desired conversation.

2. Then, tap on the Username from the top.

3. Turn on the toggle for the History is on option, as shown.

Tap on the toggle switch beside the History is on option to disable it.

From here on every message that you send and receive will not be saved after 24 hours and will get deleted. This is how can you delete messages on Google Chat.

Also Read: How to Delete Google Chat Account

How Do You Delete Messages in Google Chat for Both Sides?

To know how to delete messages on google chat for both sides, follow the below-mentioned steps:

Note: Users with Google Workspace account gets the Delete option.

1. Launch the Google Chat app on your device.

2. Tap on the desired conversation.

Tap on the conversation of your choice.

3. Tap-hold the desired message and tap on Delete.

4. Then, tap on Delete from the popup.

How to Delete Google Chat Messages on iPhone?

You can follow the same steps mentioned above to delete your Google Chat conversations on your Google Chat iPhone app.

How to Delete Message in Google Chat for Everyone?

To know how to get rid of Google Chat messages for everyone, follow these steps:

Note: Users with Google Workspace account gets the Delete option.

1. Open Google Chat and tap and hold the desired message.

Select the message you’ve sent then tap and hold the message. | How to Delete Messages on Google Chat

2. Tap on the Delete > Delete option from the popup to delete a message from both sides.

If you are a Space Manager, you can delete everyone’s messages in the chat by following the above steps.

Recommended:

We hope that you learned about how to delete messages on Google Chat. Feel free to reach out to us with your queries and suggestions via the comments section below. Also, let us know what you want to learn about next.

Posted by

Pete Mitchell

Pete is a Senior staff writer at TechCult. Pete loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has a decade of experience writing how-tos, features, and technology guides on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *