Messenger is an official messaging app by Facebook that allows users to text, video call, and voice call with all their friends on Facebook and Instagram. It’s an all-in-one messaging app available for free to download from the App Store and Play Store. If another user is annoying you on Messenger, you can block them or can restrict them to minimize your interactions with them. This article will help you guide how to block someone on Messenger without them knowing, how you can chat with someone on Facebook without Messenger, and how to use vanish mode on Messenger.
- How to Block Someone on Messenger
- How Do You Chat With Someone on Facebook without Messenger?
- How Do You Block Someone from Messaging You on Messenger?
- Will Someone Know If You Block Them?
- What Do They See When You Block Someone on Messenger?
- Can You Block Someone on Messenger without Them Knowing?
- Can Someone Still See Your Message After You Block Them?
- Can You See If Someone Read Your Message If You Blocked Them?
- Can You Block Someone on Messenger But Still be Friends?
- How Can You Tell If Someone Has Blocked You on Messenger?
- What is Vanish Mode on Messenger?
- How Do You Delete Someone from My Messenger?
How to Block Someone on Messenger
You can block any desired Messager contact from the Contacts menu in the People tab. Keep reading further to find the steps explaining the same in detail with useful illustrations for better understanding.
How Do You Chat With Someone on Facebook without Messenger?
To chat with someone on Facebook without Messenger app, follow these steps:
Note: Only works with the web version of Facebook.
1. Log In to your Facebook account.
2. Click on the Messenger icon.
3. Click on See all in Messenger.
4. Click on the edit chat icon to start a new chat.
5. Type in the desired person’s name whom you want to chat with.
6. Click on their profile and type in the message to start the conversation.
Also Read: How to See Blocked Messages on iPhone
How Do You Block Someone from Messaging You on Messenger?
To block someone on Messenger, follow these steps on how to block someone on Messenger:
1. Open the Messenger app on your phone.
2. Tap on the People tab from the bottom bar.
3. Tap on the Contacts icon from the top right of the screen.
4. Select the desired person from the contacts list and tap-hold the profile.
5. From the menu, select Block.
6. Tap on Block messages and calls.
7. Tap on BLOCK to confirm the selection and block the person.
Also Read: How to View My Blocked List on Instagram
Will Someone Know If You Block Them?
No, no one will be able to notice immediately if you blocked them. Blocking someone doesn’t notify the person, and your Facebook account won’t receive any messages and calls from the blocked account. But you will still be friends with the person on Facebook. After a few days, the person will start to notice that all the messages they send to you are not receiving any replies and your Messenger account status always shows offline. The only reason behind this is the person has blocked you.
What Do They See When You Block Someone on Messenger?
After knowing how to block someone on Messenger, you would like to know its consequences. The consequences are:
- When you block someone on Messenger, they can still see your Facebook or Instagram posts and can like the post, comment on it, and tag you in their post.
- You and the person you blocked on Messenger will no longer be able to message or call.
- You won’t receive any notifications regarding the calls and messages of the blocked account.
Can You Block Someone on Messenger without Them Knowing?
Yes, you can block someone on Messenger without them knowing. Blocking someone won’t send any notification to the person. The person will no longer be able to interact with you on Messenger. All the messages will be blocked and hidden from you. If someone bullies or annoys you on Messenger, you should use this block account feature. It’s a great safety feature.
Can Someone Still See Your Message After You Block Them?
Yes, the person can still your previous messages even after you block them. After blocking, the person can see the previous conversations with you. But all the new messages he sends you will no longer be visible to you.
Can You See If Someone Read Your Message If You Blocked Them?
Yes, you can see if someone read your message if you blocked them. You can only know the status of those messages before blocking them. After blocking, you and the person won’t be able to interact with each other. If the person has read your message, a small circled version of that person’s profile picture will appear below the message.
Can You Block Someone on Messenger But Still be Friends?
Yes, you can block someone on Messenger and still be friends with the person on Facebook and Instagram. You can select the Block all messages and calls option on your Facebook Messenger when blocking. What will happen is that you will only block that person on Messenger. You will still be friends with them on Facebook.
How Can You Tell If Someone Has Blocked You on Messenger?
To know if someone has blocked you on Messenger, you can try these methods:
- Send a message to the person you suspect might have blocked you on Messenger. If there is a circle icon without a tick, the person has not received your message. It can also mean that the person might have deactivated their account.
- Check for their Facebook account if that exists or not. If it exists, check whether they have posted something recently or not.
- Create a different account and message them if you receive a reply or if your message is sent to the person. Then it is clear that the person has blocked your account on Messenger, and you can’t text them now.
What is Vanish Mode on Messenger?
Vanish mode is end-to-end encrypted, and all the messages you send to the person will get erased from your and the person’s account as the person reads the message. The conversation stays private, and that message gets erased as anyone from the two reads them. Due to security reasons, the vanish mode on Messenger was available on the previous versions and is no longer available on the newer version of Facebook Messenger.
Also Read: 5 Ways to Delete Multiple Facebook Messages
How Do You Delete Someone from My Messenger?
To delete a non-Facebook or Instagram friend, follow these simple steps:
1. Launch the Messenger app and tap on the People tab.
2. Tap on the Contacts icon.
3. Tap-hold the desired contact and tap on Block.
4. Tap on Block messages and calls > BLOCK.
5. Now, switch to the Chats tab.
6. Tap-hold the same chat for the contact you just blocked.
7. Tap on Delete.
- How Long Does MoneyGram Hold Money
- How to Hack Candy Crush Saga on Android Without Root
- Fix Facebook Message Sent But Not Delivered
- Permanently Delete Facebook Messenger Messages from Both Sides
We hope that this article has helped you learn how to block someone on Messenger and more about vanish mode on Messenger. Please share your experience reading this article. If you have any queries or suggestions, please drop them in the comment section below. Also, let us know what you want to learn next.