In a time when we need to stay connected with people the most, Instagram has really put its best foot forward. Apart from sharing pictures and videos, it is an excellent platform to be in contact with your distant friends. As easy as it is to connect with someone in this day and age, it’s easier to shut them out!
As with other social media apps, Instagram allows users to block spam or unwanted accounts from their accounts too. This option enables users to stop receiving follow requests or messages from unwelcome users. Moreover, the blocked user will not be able to find your profile on Instagram.
Although this feature might show the person as cynical, it proves to be helpful when someone annoys or abuses you on Instagram. Maybe it’s that pesky distant relative or a toxic friend; it’s best to keep negativity away. But what if you’re the one with the millstone around your neck?
Most of the time, it is easy to figure out why you’ve been blocked. A recent fight or a bad interaction; sometimes there’s no reason at all! You won’t get notified if someone blocks you on Instagram.
If you’re still thinking about whether someone has blocked you or not, then to confirm this doubt, keep reading our guide on how to check if someone blocked you on Instagram. This will surely help you in finding out if you’ve been blocked on Instagram.
How to Check if Someone Blocked you on Instagram
Since Instagram does not notify you when you get blocked by someone, different tricks will help you figure this out. We recommend that you check out all the methods and see which one works the best for you. Although there are various third-party apps available on the market, none of them works.
Method 1: Search the user’s profile
This is the first method that you should try as it is a sure-shot way to find out if someone has blocked you or not. If the search results show the user’s profile and you can see the user’s posts, it means they haven’t blocked you. Otherwise, if you only see the post count and the number of followers but in the posts section, it displays No Posts Yet— it means that you’ve been blocked. But if you don’t see the profile in the search results, it could mean either the user has blocked you or deactivated their account.
Method 2: Look for the user in your DMs
One helpful trick to find out whether someone has blocked you is to look for the username in your DMs. Blocking someone instantly removes the conversation from both ends. If you don’t find the user, you can further assess if the user has blocked you. However, there are chances that they might have deactivated their account. You can confirm this by checking for common groups, and if their name appears on the group conversations, you can conclude that the user has blocked you.
Method 3: Search for the username on a browser
You can also get assured if someone has blocked you on Instagram by searching the username on Instagram.com/username. You will not be able to view their Instagram account profile if you’ve been blocked. There’s a possibility that the user could have deactivated their account. Check this link in incognito mode. If you find the user here but not on your Instagram, you can conclude that the user has blocked you.
In case the user’s account is visible to you, then consider sending them a follow request. If you can successfully send a follow request, there are chances that the user might have removed you from their followers’ list. However, if the Follow button does nothing and, after loading for a few seconds, goes back to Follow, it means that the user has blocked you.
Method 5: Toggle your profile for comments
Another helpful trick to check if someone blocked you on Instagram is to toggle your profile for their comments on your posts. If they had commented on your posts, you would find their username as Instagram does not remove old comments even if someone blocks you. On tapping their username, if you see all of the posts of the user on their profile, it means they haven’t blocked you. Otherwise, if you see the post count and followers on the top, but the post section shows No Posts Yet, it means that you’ve been blocked.
Method 6: Search for the user with another account
If none of the methods has worked yet, then try this one out. Search for the username with another account. If you can still not view the user’s account, it means that the user has deactivated their account. On the other hand, if you can view the user’s account, it means that the user has blocked you.
One thing to remember is that whatever the reason may be for blocking you, the most important thing is to respect the person’s decision. We hope that this comprehensive guide will help you figure out all your problems concerning how to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Q1. Can I see who has blocked me on Instagram?
No, you can not see the user’s account who has blocked you, and Instagram does not let you know who blocked you.
Q2. How do you tell if you have been blocked on Instagram?
- You can find if someone blocked you on Instagram by going to their account. If the post count is visible and you see No Posts Yet in the posts section, it means that you have been blocked.
- If you can not find the user in your DMs, it means that the user has blocked you.
- You may also check by opening the user’s account using another account.
Q3. What happens if someone blocks you on Instagram?
You will not be able to send messages or view the user’s profile.
- How to Unblock Yourself on WhatsApp When Blocked
- How to Know If Someone Has Blocked You on Snapchat
- How to Send Direct Messages on Instagram
- 6 Ways to Get Rid of Ads on your Android Phone
We hope that this guide was helpful and you were able to check if someone blocked you on Instagram. If you still have any queries regarding this article, then feel free to ask them in the comments section.