Did you also try to add your coworker or high school friend on Facebook only to end up wondering why is the add friend button on Facebook grey? Despite your many efforts, it won’t go away unless you know why are some friends greyed out on Facebook. Well, scratch your head no more and read this blog post to discover the truth behind this.
Table of Contents
Why are Some Friends Greyed Out on Facebook?
Humans are social animals who need and crave social interaction and attention. For this, Facebook can be a great app to meet new people and maintain existing relationships. However, there are times when some are greyed out due to reasons such as:
- Your Facebook friends can appear grey if their profile has been temporarily deactivated by themselves or by the platform.
- A user can appear greyed out on Facebook if their account has been permanently deleted.
- It can also happen if the user has blocked you on Facebook. Although their name will still appear in your friend list, their profile picture will be replaced with a generic silhouette.
Also Read: Fix Apps are greyed out in Windows 10
Why is the Add Friend Button on Facebook Grey?
Here are a few possible reasons why is the add friend button on Facebook grey:
- If a person has reached their maximum number of 5000 friends on Facebook, you will see a grey add a friend option on their profile.
- This can also happen if the user has changed their privacy settings. They might have allowed only certain people such as friends of friends to send them a friend request on the app.
- You can also see a grey color on Facebook if the user has blocked you.
- A grey add friend option can occur due to temporary technical issues such as server downtime.
What is the Difference Between Blue and Grey Add Friends on Facebook?
As discussed earlier, a grey Add Friends option on Facebook indicates that you cannot send a friend request to that user. On the contrary, a blue Add Friends option on Facebook indicates that you can send a friend request to that user.
What Happens if You Are Restricted by Someone on Facebook?
When a user restricts someone on Facebook, the app does not send notifications about the same. Here are a few things that happen once you get restricted by someone on Facebook:
- The user will not get notifications when you text or call them on Facebook.
- Facebook will remove your chat from their Facebook inbox.
- You will be unable to see their active status on Facebook.
- You cannot see read receipts of your sent messages.
When it comes to why are some friends greyed out on Facebook, there can be multiple reasons as stated earlier. Whether it is due to privacy settings or account restrictions, it is necessary to understand and respect other users’ boundaries. So, the next time you come across a greyed-out option, you know what it is and how to deal with it.