Muting on social networks is the best alternative to unfollowing or blocking someone, as it temporarily silences the texts that flood your timeline. However, it’s important to understand what happens when you mute someone on Twitter and its effects on their profile updates. Let’s delve into the details and determine if someone on Twitter can see if you have muted them.
Table of Contents
What Happens When You Mute Someone on Twitter?
When you stop the tweets from certain profiles on Twitter, the following things also happen:
- The muted account would remain on your following list if you were already following them. The account you mute also remains your follower.
- Silenced accounts can still send direct messages to you. However, you will not receive SMS or push notifications about their activities on Twitter.
- If you are muting an account you already follow, all their past and future tweets will be removed from your timeline. However, mentions and replies involving the silenced account will still be visible in the notifications tab.
So, it is what happens when you mute any user on Twitter.
Note: Sometimes, tweets from muted accounts may still appear on your timeline, but they will be hidden. If you want to view their tweets, you can tap on the Show option.
Can Someone on Twitter See If You Mute Them?
No, if you stop tweets from someone on Twitter, that user will remain unaware of it. Their posts will stop showing up on your feed, but they will not be notified about this.
Can They See My Posts If I Mute Someone on Twitter?
Yes. Muting a user will not stop them from viewing your Twitter content. If you want that the muted user should not see your posts, you can remove them from your following list.
How to Mute an Account on Twitter?
If you still want to mute someone on Twitter after learning what happens to that user, read on. There are two ways by which you can do so, as mentioned below:
Method 1: From User’s Tweet
1. Open the Twitter app on your phone and locate the target user’s tweet.
2. Tap on the three-dotted icon from the top right corner of the tweet.
3. From the popup menu, tap on Mute @username, as shown below.
You can now enjoy the relatively silent feeds, as you already know what happens when you mute any user on Twitter.
Method 2: From User’s Profile
1. Launch the Twitter app and navigate to the target user’s profile.
2. Tap on the three-dotted icon from the top-right corner of the profile screen.
3. Then, tap on Mute.
4. Tap on Yes, I’m sure from the confirmation popup.
This guide has now answered what happens when you mute someone on Twitter. So, stopping tweets from someone on Twitter allows you to regain control over your feed without notifying the target user. Convey your queries or suggestions through the comment section below, and keep visiting our website for more informative content.