What Happens If You Deregister Your Firestick?

What Happens If You Deregister Your Firestick?

Amazon launched a digital media player and mini-console known as Amazon TV Firestick in 2014. These compact devices connect easily with your HDMI slot and broadcast high-definition quality content on the television to which it is connected. With the provided remote controller, users can also access local content and play video games. If you own an Amazon TV Firestick or planning to buy a new one for yourself and wondering what happens if you deregister your Firestick, stay tuned till the end. You will learn how to find your Amazon Firestick code used to register to your Amazon account, and if does deregistering Firestick remove apps. If you are someone looking for more information related to your Amazon TV Firestick, we are bringing you a helpful guide that will resolve all your queries, like how to deregister an Amazon device.

What Happens If You Deregister Your Firestick?

What Happens If You Deregister Your Firestick?

Continue reading to understand what happens if you deregister your Firestick and also learn the steps to deregister Firestick from your Amazon account in detail with proper illustrations.

Do You Need an Amazon Account to Use a Firestick?

Yes, it is necessary to have an Amazon account to use any Amazon device. To utilize the Fire TV Stick, you must have an Amazon account but not a paid Prime membership. Instead, you can purchase content of your own choice and taste and use one of the several TV, movie, or music streaming apps offered by the Amazon app store, including Spotify, Netflix, Disney plus Hotstar, and many more.

How Can You Find Your Amazon Firestick Code?

If you want to register your Amazon device, such as Amazon Fire TV Stick, you must be wondering how can you find your Amazon Firestick code. So when you try to register your Amazon account on your Amazon Firestick, it will display you an Activation Code which you can enter into your Amazon account and easily register your device to your account. This is the way to find your Amazon Firestick code.

Activation Code on Amazon Firestick to Sign in to your Amazon account

Also Read: Why Does Your Firestick Say Network Disconnected?

Does Resetting Firestick Deregister It?

Yes. Factory resetting your Amazon Firestick will deregister your Firestick from your Amazon account, which will bring your device to factory condition. When your factory resets your Firestick, you will lose all your all downloaded data, including in-app purchases. And you have to start over by pairing your Firestick remote, connecting to Wi-Fi, adding your Amazon credentials, downloading apps, and other similar actions. Your Firestick will feel like a brand new Fire TV experience. Keep reading to learn what happens if you deregister your Firestick.

Can You Deregister a Fire Stick?

Yes, you can deregister your Amazon Firestick easily from your Amazon account by going to the Manage Content and Devices section. You can deregister your device from there. Also, a lot of features available on your Amazon Firestick won’t work. After deregistering Firestick, all your information will be removed, and if anyone attempts to use your Firestick, they will have to log in with their own Amazon account, not necessarily a prime one.

What Happens If You Deregister Your Fire Stick?

All the information, except your data, will be removed and you won’t be able to access many Firestick features. This process is necessary if you want to add a new Amazon account to Firestick or want to gift it to someone.

Does Deregistering Firestick Remove Apps?

Yes, deregistering your Fire TV Stick from your Amazon account will remove your information, and you won’t be able to access a lot of features on the Fire Tv Stick. However, your personal data will not be removed with this process. The difference between a factory reset and deregister is:

  • When you deregister your Amazon account information, like your credit card details and your Amazon prime watch history, pre-installed apps like Amazon Music and Amazon Prime video will be removed. But apps like Netflix and YouTube will work exactly like before, with your Wi-Fi information unchanged.
  • If you factory reset your Firestick, all of your data is lost, and you have to start setting up your Firestick again.

This is what happens if you deregister your Firestick.

Also Read: How Long Does MoneyGram Hold Money

How Long Does It Take to Deregister a Firestick?

Deregistering your Amazon Firestick is an easy process and it takes 1-2 minutes to complete this process. Read this article from the start to learn what happens if you deregister your Firestick.

How Can You Reactivate Your Firestick?

If you have deregistered your Amazon Firestick and you are wondering how can you reactivate or use your Amazon Firestick, here is a guide showing you ways to activate your Firestick.

1. On your Amazon Firestick, select the Have an account Sign In option.

On your Amazon Firestick, select the Have an account Sign in option | What Happens If You Deregister Your Firestick?

2. Now, an activation code will be displayed.

Activation Code on Amazon Firestick to Sign in to your Amazon account

3. Now, visit this Amazon Sign in page on your browser.

4. Enter your Amazon account credentials and click on Sign-In.

Enter your Amazon account credentials and click on Sign-In | What Happens If You Deregister Your Firestick? | deregister an Amazon device

5. Now, enter the activation code displayed on your Firestick screen in the Register Your Device field and click on Continue.

enter the activation code displayed on your Firestick screen in the Register your device field and click on Continue | deregister an Amazon device

And in a few seconds, your Amazon Firestick would be connected to your Amazon account and this process will reactivate your Firestick.

Also Read: How to Cast to Firestick from Windows PC

What Happens When You Deregister an Amazon Device?

If you deregister Amazon devices such as Amazon Firestick, Amazon Echo, and Amazon Kindle:

  • Your data, including your name, login, password, and other personal settings, are all entirely erased from an Amazon device.
  • Also, the device gets removed from your online Amazon account, and you no longer can access its feature.
  • Once a device has been deregistered, its firmware and any linked internet accounts where it had been listed are rolled back to their previous state.

Deregistering your Amazon devices is a necessary step if you want to gift it to someone or you want to register your Amazon device to a new Amazon account. This is also what happens if you deregister your Firestick.

Can You Re-register a Deregistered Device On Amazon?

Yes, you can re-register a deregistered device on Amazon just by logging in again on your Amazon device. You will have to enter your registered email address or mobile number along with the correct password. Upon re-registering, the specific account’s cloud library will be immediately accessible, and all your personal data will now be available. With this, you will be able to access all the features on your Amazon devices.

What Does It Mean to Deregister Your Amazon Account?

Deregistering your Amazon Account means you can deregister your Amazon devices such as Amazon Firestick, Amazon Echo, and Amazon Kindle from your Amazon account. After the device is deregistered, the firmware and any linked internet accounts where it had been listed will be rolled to their factory settings.

Recommended:

With this guide, we are hoping that all your doubts related to what happens if you deregister your Firestick or does deregistering Firestick remove apps are resolved now. Feel free to reach out to us with your queries and suggestions via the comments section below. Also, let us know what topic you want to learn about in our next article.

Posted by
Pete Mitchell

Pete is a Senior staff writer at TechCult. Pete loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has a decade of experience writing how-tos, features, and technology guides on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.