Home » Remove Yourself From Group Text On Android

Remove Yourself From Group Text On Android

  • by
  • 5 min read

Looking to remove yourself from a group text on your Android phone? Sadly, you can’t leave a group text, but you can still mute or delete the thread in your Messages app.

Group texts are a useful method of communication when you need to convey the same message to a number of people. Instead of doing that individually, you can simply create a group of all the concerned parties and send the message. It also provides a convenient platform to share ideas, discuss, and conduct meetings. Communication between various committees and groups are also easier because of group chats.

Remove Yourself From Group Text On Android

However, there are certain downsides to this. Group chats can become annoying, especially if you were reluctant to be a part of the conversation or the group in general. You keep receiving hundreds of messages every day which do not concern you. Your phone keeps ringing from time to time to notify you of these messages. Apart from simple text messages, people share a lot of photos and videos which are nothing but spam to you. They get downloaded automatically and consume space. Reasons like these make you want to quit these group chats as soon as possible.

Unfortunately, this is not possible. In fact, the default messaging app on Android does not even allow you to exit a group chat. It would be possible if this group existed on some other third-party apps like WhatsApp, Hike, Messenger, Instagram, etc. but not for your default messaging service. However, this does not mean you have to suffer in silence. In this article, we are going to help you to save yourself from the annoying and unwanted group chats.

Remove Yourself From a Group Text On Android

As mentioned earlier, you can’t really quit a group chat but the best thing that you can do instead is to block the notifications. Follow these steps to do that.

How to Mute Notifications form a Group Chat?

1. Click on the default messaging app icon.

Click on the default messaging app icon

2. Now open the Group chat that you want to mute.

Open the Group chat that you want to mute

3. On the top right-hand side you will see three vertical dots. Click on them.

On the top right-hand side you will see three vertical dots. Click on them

4. Now select the group details option.

Select the group details option

5. Click on the Notifications option.

Click on the Notifications option

6. Now simply toggle off the options to allow notifications and to display in the status bar.

Toggle off the options to allow notifications and to display in the status bar

This will stop any notification from the respective group chat. You can repeat the same steps for every group chat that you wish to mute. You can also prevent multimedia messages which are shared in these group chats from getting downloaded automatically.

Also Read: 4 Ways to Read Deleted Messages on WhatsApp

How to Prevent the auto-download of Multimedia Messages?

1. Click on the default messaging app icon.

Click on the default messaging app icon

2. On the top right-hand side, you will see three vertical dots. Click on them.

On the top right-hand side you will see three vertical dots. Click on them

3. Now click on the Settings option.

Click on the Settings option

4. Now select the Advanced option.

Select the Advanced option

5. Now simply toggle off the setting for auto-download MMS.

Toggle off the setting for auto-download MMS

This will save both your data and your space. At the same time, you do not need to worry about your gallery getting filled with spam.

Recommended: How to Restart or Reboot Your Android Phone

Take note that there is also an option to delete the group chat completely but that just deletes the messages that are on your phone. It may remove the group chat for the time being but it comes back as soon as a new message is sent on the group. The only way to get removed from a group chat is by asking the creator of the group to remove you. This would require him/her to create a new group excluding you. If the creator is willing to that then you will be able to say goodbye to the group chat completely. Otherwise, you can always mute the notifications, disable auto-download of MMS, and simply ignore whatever conversation takes place on the group.

nv-author-image

Elon Decker

Elon is a tech writer at TechCult. He's been writing how-to guides for about 6 years now and has covered many topics. He loves to cover topics related to Windows, Android, and the latest tricks and tips.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *