Home » How to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat 

How to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat 

  • by
  • 7 min read

If you are a regular user of Snapchat, you must have seen a map on the application. This map has a unique feature. Whenever you go to a place, your Bitmoji avatar moves on this map as well. Therefore, your followers get to know about your whereabouts. If you want to keep your adventures private, this feature can be disabled. But what if you want to see who has viewed your location on Snapchat?

In this article, we’ll check out what the ‘Snap Map’ is, as well as how to find out who’s viewing your location on Snapchat. Therefore, if you’re interested, keep scrolling and get on with the reading!

How to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat 

How to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat

Reasons why one might want to know who has viewed their location on Snapchat

When you update any information about yourself online, you have the right to know who views it. Sometimes this right gets taken away by the privacy functions of an application. The same goes for the location. Knowing who has viewed your location on a social media platform gives you a sense of safety. It might inform you of any stalking behaviour as well. Here is a list of possible reasons why you would want to know who has viewed your location on Snapchat:

  1. To check if some of your friends are nearby so you could hang out together. 
  2. To look out for any unusual activity.
  3. To find out if someone, in particular, that you wanted to view the location has viewed it or not.

If you relate with any of the reasons mentioned above, give this entire article a very careful read!

How to see who has viewed your location on Snapchat

Before this ‘how’ comes a ‘can’. Can you see who has viewed your location on Snapchat? The answer is— an unfortunate no. You cannot view the list of the people who have viewed your location on Snapchat. Moreover, the application does not notify you when someone checks your location.

The feature that allowed the users to check if someone has checked their location last appeared in 2018. But now it has been removed. This was done by tapping on Snap Maps and then tapping on Settings. But if you open the Settings now, you’ll only find a few customization options instead of the list used to appear there.

The logic behind this move is pretty simple. If you go through your Snap Map and accidentally tap on a user’s emoji, it would give them the wrong impression. This would be particularly true if they’re a stranger. Although Snap Map is an excellent utility to find out if any of your friends are in the same area, it might also pose a threat to one’s privacy.

When you look at someone’s location, do they get notified?

While talking about Snap Map, let us keep ourselves in the other person’s place as well. If you have taken a look at someone’s location, will they get a notification? The most straightforward answer to this question is no; no notifications are sent.

This is a lot different from Snapchat sending a notification to users if someone takes a screenshot of their stories. Unlike the screenshots, neither will you get to know about the users that have viewed your location, nor will they get a notification if you tap on theirs.

What is the Map feature? 

The map feature shows the travelling locations of the user. In case a person has travelled from Houston to New York, the application will display the path in the form of a dotted line. In case somebody is following your travelling stories, then you will be informed. One can also conclude that travelling stories are similar to regular stories as well. The only different thing is that since it showcases your location, you can find out if someone has viewed your location.

Is there a way to hide your location on the Snap Map?

To understand this, let us first take a look at what exactly the Snap Map is. It is a feature that allows you to share your location with your friends. There are three different privacy options that one can choose from. They are as follows:

Ghost Mode – If you want your movement to be private, you can turn this mode on. The Ghost Mode makes you invisible on the Snap Map and therefore ensures utmost privacy.

My Friends – This selection will make your location available to all the users in your friend list.

My Friends, Except – In case you have a friend that you wouldn’t want to share your location with, you can select this option and exclude them from the list.

How to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat  | How to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat 

One thing that you must be careful about is that even when you post regular stories on Snapchat, your location gets preserved on its servers. This means all your friends will be able to see the location when it’s live on the platform.

How to hide your location on Snapchat?

The best way to hide your location on Snapchat is by using Ghost Mode. Following are the steps that you need to follow:

1. Launch the application and swipe downwards on the camera. This will open the Snap Map.

Launch the application and swipe downwards on the camera. This will open the Snap Map.

2. Tap on the gear icon on the right-hand side, This will open the Snap Map settings. From there, you can turn on the Ghost Mode.

How to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat 

3. Once this mode is turned on your friends will not be able to see your current location.

First, one has to make peace with the fact that it’s impossible to know who views their location. In such a situation, keeping things private sounds like a logical option. The ghost mode hides your location perfectly, and therefore, one must make sure to switch it on as and when they’d like to hide their location.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1. Can you see who checks your location on Snapchat?

No, you cannot see who checks your location on Snapchat. However, one can see who is following your travel stories. 

Q2. Does Snapchat send a notification when you look at someone’s location?

No, Snapchat does not send any notifications when you view someone’s location.

Q3. Will someone know if I viewed them on the Snap Map?

If you view somebody on the Snap Map, they won’t receive any notification. They won’t even know that you have tapped on their Bitmoji avatar.

Recommended:

We hope that this guide was helpful and you were able to see who has viewed your Location on Snapchat. If you still have any queries regarding this article, then feel free to ask them in the comments section.

nv-author-image

Pete Mitchell

Pete is a Senior staff writer at TechCult. Pete loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has a decade of experience writing how-tos, features, and technology guides on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *