How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

Usernames are the identity of every Instagram account. Username needs to be unique, and one Instagram account can only have one active username. On Instagram, a user can change their username as many times as they want, depending on the availability of a username. Former usernames on Instagram are not permanently deleted, as they stay for a few days if a user needs to switch back to them. A former username can be availed again if that username has not been taken by some other user. As the username is the identity of every Instagram account so any user can find any user on Instagram using their username. If you want to change your username but have difficulty doing it, this article will guide you in steps to learn how to delete former usernames on Instagram and change to the new one. It will also guide you in steps on how to delete old Instagram usernames and how you can hide about this account on Instagram.

How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

Keep reading further to find the steps explaining how to delete former usernames on Instagram in detail with useful illustrations for better understanding.

Does Instagram Show All Former Usernames?

Yes, Instagram shows all former usernames. All the username activity can be viewed from the account history section in Your activity. From your activity section, you can view all your account activity. As you change your username, the former username will be saved for 14 days for your account, so if you need to switch it back, you can do that. Now you know whether does Instagram show all former username or not.

Where to Find Former Usernames on Instagram?

To find former usernames on Instagram, you need to go to your Instagram profile. And then, by tapping on the hamburger menu icon, you need to go to Your activity section. From your activity section, you need to go to the Account history option. You will see all the usernames you have changed and all other account activity from the date you created your Instagram account. As a result, you can find your former usernames in Your activity’s account history section on Instagram.

Also Read: What are Best Ideas for TikTok Usernames?

How Long does Instagram Save Your Old Username?

Instagram saves your old usernames for, at most, 14 days because if you want to switch back to your former username, you can do it. Once you change your username, the former username is saved for your account for 14 days. And after this period, it will be removed. If someone takes that username after 14 days, you will no longer be able to claim it back. Now you must know how long does Instagram save your old username.

Can I Delete Former Usernames on Instagram?

Yes, you can delete former usernames on Instagram. At once, only a single username is allowed to be used to represent an Instagram account. You can change your username as many times as you want based on its availability, but you cannot use two usernames on one Instagram account. Every activity you perform on your Instagram account can be viewed in the Your activity section. From there, you can also view the activity of your username changes.

How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram?

To know how to delete former usernames on Instagram, just follow these steps:

1. Open the Instagram application on your Android or iOS devices.

Note: Make sure you are logged into your account.

Open the Instagram app on your device. |

2. Tap on the Profile tab from the bottom right corner of the screen.

Tap on the profile icon at the bottom right corner of the screen.

3. From your profile, tap on the Edit profile option.

From your profile tap on the Edit profile button.

4. Tap on the Username field.

Tap on the Username option. | How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

5. Now, enter a new name after removing the old one and tap on the checkmark icon twice from the top right corner of the screen.

This is how to delete former usernames on Instagram.

Also Read: How to Get an Inactive Instagram Username

How Do You Delete Old Instagram Usernames?

To know how to delete old Instagram usernames, follow these steps:

1. Open the Instagram app on your device.

2. Tap on the Profile tab > Edit profile option.

From your profile tap on the Edit profile button.

3. Tap on the Username field.

Tap on the Username option. | How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

4. Erase the old username and enter a new one in the given field.

5. Then, tap on the checkmark icon from the top right corner.

6. Again, tap on the checkmark icon to save changes and delete the old username from your account.

How Do I Remove My Full Name from Instagram 2022? How to Remove Full Name from Instagram?

To remove your full name from Instagram, you can follow the below-given steps:

1. Launch the Instagram app on your device.

2. Tap on the Profile tab > Edit profile > Name field.

Tap on your Name.

3. Erase your full name and tap on the checkmark icon from the top right corner of the screen.

Erase your full name and tap on the right icon from the top right corner of the screen. | remove full name from Instagram

4. Tap on the checkmark icon again to remove the full name and save changes.

Tap on the right icon again to remove the full name and save changes. | How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

This is how can you remove full name from Instagram.

Also Read: How to Change Username and Name on Clubhouse Android App

How to Hide About This Account on Instagram?

You must turn your IG account to private to hide the About this account section. To hide about this account on Instagram, follow the below-mentioned steps:

1. Open the Instagram app on your device.

2. Tap on the Profile tab from the bottom right corner of the screen.

Tap on the profile icon at the bottom right corner of the screen.

3. Tap on the Hamburger icon from the top right corner.

Tap on the Hamburger menu icon at the top right corner of the screen. | remove full name from Instagram

4. Then, tap on Settings.

From the bottom navigation bar tap on Settings. | How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

5. In the Settings section, tap on Privacy.

In the Settings section, tap on Privacy.

6. Tap on the Private account option to make your account private.

Tap on the Private account option to make your account private. | remove full name from Instagram

This is how can you hide about this account on Instagram.

Also Read: How to Find Someone on OnlyFans without Username

How to Delete Emails from Instagram?

To know how to delete emails from Instagram, follow these steps:

1. Open the Instagram app on your phone.

2. Tap on the Profile tab > hamburger icon > Settings > Account.

In Settings, tap on Account. | How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

3. Tap on Personal information.

Tap on Personal information. | remove full name from Instagram

4. Tap on the E-mail Address field.

Tap on the E-mail Address option at the top. | remove full name from Instagram

5. Remove the old email and tap on the checkmark icon from the top right corner of the screen.

Note: You can also enter the new email address in place of the old one.

Erase the old email and tap on the right icon at the top right corner of the screen. | How to Delete Former Usernames on Instagram

This is how can you delete emails from Instagram.

Recommended:

We hope that you learned about how to delete former usernames on Instagram. Feel free to reach out to us with your queries and suggestions via the comments section below. Also, let us know what you want to learn about next.

Posted by

Pete Mitchell

Pete is a Senior staff writer at TechCult. Pete loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has a decade of experience writing how-tos, features, and technology guides on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *