iCloud is a cloud-based online storage service by Apple that is available on all Apple devices. But for that, you need to have an Apple ID. iCloud enables users to store and sync data across all their Apple devices. It also enables data sharing between your Apple devices easier without the need for any third-party application or service. Just like any other data on Apple devices, iCloud data can be deleted, but deleting the iCloud data will be the only way in, and there’s no way back. If you want to know what happens when I delete iCloud backup data and what data is being deleted when I delete iCloud backup, this article will help you with that. Stay tuned until the end to learn everything in detail.
What Happens When I Delete iCloud Backup?
iCloud helps in building the Apple Ecosystem with smooth and seamless functionality for their users between all their devices. All the owners of Apple devices use iCloud as their backup storage so that in case they accidentally delete some data on their device, they can easily recover it from iCloud. You will get to what happens when I delete iCloud backup further in this article. Keep reading to learn more about it in detail.
When you delete an iCloud backup, all the data stored in that backup will be permanently removed from Apple’s servers. This means that you will not be able to restore that backup to any of your Apple devices after 180 days. And if you have multiple backups for different devices, deleting one backup will not affect the others.
Do I Need Backups on iCloud?
No, it is not necessary to have backups on iCloud. It is safe to have a backup on iCloud if you don’t have any other storage option. For a user that uses several Apple devices and wants their data to be safe and available on their new device, using iCloud backup will be very beneficial. For a user who wants to save their data either on the phone or some external storage than for them, iCloud backup will not be that useful. Now you exactly know do you need backups on iCloud or not.
Do iPhone Backups Take Up Space?
Yes, iPhone backups do take up space. iPhone backup space depends on the amount of data that is being backed up by the user. If you have 5GB of media files and you take a backup of it, your device backup will take an additional 5GB of space along with the original media files already stored on your device. iPhone Backups can take up a lot of space, and not deleting the backed-up data from your iPhone can make your iPhone storage full.
Also Read: How to Delete System Storage on iPhone
If I Delete iCloud Backup, Will I Lose My Photos?
No, if you delete iCloud backup, you will not lose your photos saved locally on your device. Deleting an iCloud backup will only delete those photos which are backed up into it and not the photos that are saved on your device. If the photos are only saved on the backup, and you delete the iCloud backup, you will definitely lose your photos forever.
Is It Ok to Delete Backup on iCloud?
No, it is not okay to delete iCloud backup. iCloud is used as a backup storage; it is used to save data from your iPhone or other Apple devices to the cloud storage. If you have backed up any data on iCloud, deleting the iCloud backup will delete that data, and you won’t be able to recover it anymore until and unless the data was saved on your device.
Will Deleting Data from iCloud Delete Everything?
Yes, deleting data from iCloud will delete everything present in it. Although the data backed up in the iCloud will get deleted if you delete an iCloud backup, the data that is saved on your device locally will not get deleted. Deleting data from iCloud will only remove the data from the iCloud and not cause any effect on the data that is being stored locally on your device.
Will Deleting iCloud Backup Delete Contacts?
Yes, deleting the iCloud backup will delete contacts from your backup iCloud data and will not have any effect on the contacts that are still on your iPhone or another Apple device. Contacts are first saved locally on your iPhone, and then you can back them up to iCloud.
- If you delete contacts from your iPhone, you can easily get back that account from iCloud.
- If you delete contacts from iCloud, you can back them up again to the iCloud from your locally saved contacts.
- But if you delete contacts from both, you won’t be able to recover it back.
Why is My iCloud Backup Taking Up So Much Storage?
Here are some reasons why is your iCloud backup taking up so much storage:
- Your old iCloud backup is still available on your iCloud.
- You’ve backed up the same data from your device to iCloud.
- Your iCloud still contains the backup from an older Apple device which you don’t need anymore.
- Maybe you’ve enabled backup from an unknown source unknowingly.
Can I Delete My iCloud Backup and Start Again?
Yes, you can delete your iCloud backup and start again. Deleting the backup will not delete any of the data available on your device; only the data present in the backup will be deleted. Sometimes it becomes necessary to remove the old backup of your older Apple device on your current device to free up some space on the iCloud so that you can store new data in it.
What Happens When I Delete iCloud Backup?
Here are some key points that will help you know what happens when I delete iCloud backup:
- Backup data will be deleted permanently and will free up space for other data.
- Deleting backup will free up some storage on your Apple device.
- Deleting backup will not delete any of the locally saved files on your Apple device.
- If you haven’t backed up your photos, videos, and other necessary files somewhere else, then deleting them from the backup can delete them permanently.
- Backup once deleted can be recovered until 180 days from the day it was deleted.
- How to View All Twitter Likes
- How Do I Permanently Delete My WeChat History
- How to Get into Your iCloud Account
- What Does Disable and Download Messages Mean in iCloud?
We hope that you learned about what happens when I delete iCloud backup. Feel free to reach out to us with your queries and suggestions via the comments section below. Also, let us know what topic you want to learn about in our next article.