What Happens If I Clear Data on Messenger?

Understand the result of clearing data of this messaging app.

If you’re tired of dealing with constant errors, deleting your Messenger app data may seem like a quick fix. However, it’s important to understand the potential consequences before proceeding. Let’s take a closer look at what happens when you clear data on Messenger and learn how to do so on your Android phone to improve your chat experience.

What Happens If I Clear Data on Messenger?

What Happens If I Clear Data on Messenger?

Clearing data on Messenger resets the app to its default state without removing it from your phone. You will be logged out, but your contacts, messages, comments, and photos are not deleted. All your data is stored in the cloud, so you can still access it when you sign back in. Your information remains intact, ensuring a seamless experience upon logging in to Messenger again.

What Does Clear Messenger Data Do?

Clearing the Messenger data resets the app, eliminating unnecessary and junk files. This action frees up storage space on your device.

Also Read: 10 Ways to Fix Facebook Messenger lagging on Android

Will Clearing Data in Messenger Delete Messages?

No, it does not delete your messages. Your messages will remain intact. However, clearing data will remove your login information from the app.

How to Clear Data on Messenger on Android?

To clear data of the Messenger app on your Android device, follow these steps:

Note: Since Android smartphones don’t have the same Settings options, they vary from manufacturer to manufacturer. Hence, ensure the correct settings before changing any on your device. The upcoming steps were performed on OPPO A53 for illustration purposes.

1. Open Phone Settings.

2. Swipe down and tap on the App management option.

scroll down to App management

3. Under the App Management section, tap on the App List to see all the apps.

4. Tap on the Messenger app to clear data of this app.

5. Tap on Storage usage.

tap on storage usage

6. From here, tap on Clear data.

tap on clear data

7. Confirm the action by tapping OK from the pop-up that appears.

Also Read: How to Delete Snapchat Data

We hope this article has provided detailed information on what happens if I clear data on Messenger. If you are still in doubt, convey them in the comments section below. Furthermore, don’t miss out on future articles by regularly exploring our website.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *