What Does Friends Except Mean on Facebook?

Ensure that certain posts remain visible to a select group and maintain your desired level of privacy.

In the big fat world of social media, privacy is highly important. You should always be the one to control who sees your posts, updates, and personal information. With this in target, Facebook offers Friends Except, an intriguing privacy-centered feature for users. However, if you have just started using Facebook, let us help you understand what exactly does Friends Except mean and how does it affect your sharing preferences?

What Does Friends Except Mean on Facebook

What Does Friends Except Indicate on Facebook?

Friends Except is a setting on Facebook, which was inculcated to focus more on the safety and privacy concerns of the users. It lets you customize your audience and exclude specific people from your friend lists or groups you feel uncomfortable with while posting anything on the platform. It’s useful for avoiding unwelcome interactions as only the friends you choose can get access to your content.

Can Friends See Friends Except on Facebook?

No other user except you can see whom you have hidden using the Friend Except feature. The list of friends hidden and added to the except list belongs only to the account holder. Now anything you post will be visible to all of your friends on Facebook, except for the individuals or groups you have specifically excluded. 

Also Read: How to Unshare on Facebook

How to Use Friends Except on Facebook

Privacy concerns are a major reason why people use the Friends Except feature on Facebook. There are two methods you can use it.

Method 1: Using Customize

You can directly customize the visibility of an individual post on Facebook before posting it on the timeline. Follow the steps mentioned below:

1. Open Facebook and tap on Write something here…

2. Tap the Post audience option under your username.

Tap the Post audience option under your username.

3. Select Friends except and then tap on the friends you want to exclude from seeing the post.

Select Friends Except and then tap on the friends you want to exclude from seeing the post.

4. Tap Done in the top right corner.

Also Read: How to Make Close Friends List on Instagram

Method 2: Using Settings

If you want to customize the overall privacy settings of the app and restrict the visibility of your posts and information to specific people, follow the steps mentioned below:

1. Open Facebook and tap the Menu button in the bottom right corner.

2. Tap Settings & privacy and then tap on Settings again.

3. Scroll to the Audience and visibility section and tap on Posts.

Scroll to the Audience and visibility section and tap on Posts.

4. Tap Who can see your future posts? and then on Friends except.

Tap Who can see your future posts and then on Friends except

5. Select the friends you’d wish to add to the list and hit the Done button in the top right corner.

How To Change Friends Except on Facebook

Now, if you happen to change your mind and feel like modifying the Friends Except list, you can follow the same procedure as above to add or remove friends from the list.

Recommended: How to Find a Hidden Mobile Number in Telegram

Now, that you can comprehend what friends except on Facebook means, keep in mind to only include your close friends using the friends except feature while posting or sharing. Remove the negative influences and only be amongst the positive ones. Having said that, do let us know in the comments section if there is anything else we can help with.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *