How to Create and Share Google Maps Saved Places List (Android and iPhone)

Master the art of organization with Google Maps' bookmarked places list!

Craving for a weekend gateway? If so, Google Maps can be your virtual compass for navigating new places. Its bookmarked places list serves as a useful tool for organizing trips, exploring neighborhoods, or remembering favorite locations. Additionally, it allows you to share the same with friends & family to plan a trip collaboratively. This post will explain how to create and share Google Maps saved places lists on both iPhone and Android smartphones.

How to create and share google maps saved places list (Android and iPhone)

How to Create a Saved Places List on Google Maps

By creating and using Google Maps saved place lists, finding and sharing important locations becomes easier. Let’s check out different ways through will you can create saved places from different devices.

Option 1: On Android

Here’s how you can create a saved places list in Google Maps.

1. Open the Google Maps app.

2. Search for a place or tap it on the map.

3. At the bottom right, tap on Save.

Tap on Save | Google Maps saved places list

4. Choose a list or select + New list to create a fresh one.

Choose a list or select New list

Note: You can also add a note to a place after saving it to a list.

Now you will be able to save places easily.

Option 2: On iPhone

Follow the steps below to save the list of the places on your iPhone.

1. Open the Google Maps app.

2. Search and select a place.

3. At the bottom, tap the place’s name or address.

4. Tap on Save.

Tap Save | Google Maps saved places list

5. Choose a list or select +New list to create a fresh one.

select New list

This way you can save locations on Google Maps on your iPhone.

Also Read: How to Use Google Maps to Track Someone

How to Share My Google Maps Saved Places List

The option to share your lists helps you to make others a part of your journey and they are able to see your lists and preferences. Here is how you do it:

Note: Make sure you have made your list public so that the receiver can see the contents.

1. Go to Google Maps and tap on Saved at the bottom.

2. Tap on the three dots next to the list. 

3. Select the Share list option.

Option to share list content on Google Maps

4. Tap on Continue in the pop-up and choose the contact with whom you want to share the list.

This way, you can share your saved places with friends and family.

How to Manage Saved Places Lists

Organizing your favorite places into personalized lists and managing your bookmarked places in Google Maps is a quick and easy way to stay on top of things. Here’s a detailed method for organizing your saved place lists efficiently:

Option 1: Add and Remove Places from Lists

It keeps your list updated and fresh. You can remove the places you have covered or add new adventures.

1. Open Google Maps and tap on Saved.

tap on Saved | Google Maps saved places list

2. Select the list you want to add or remove the place from.

3. Tap on the Edit option.

click on edit

4A. To add a place, tap on the + icon in the bottom right corner.

4B. To remove a place, tap on the X icon next to the place.

click on plus or cut option to add and remove places

Now. you can easily add and remove saved location lists on Google Maps. 

Option 2: Hide Pinned Locations

This option helps keep your plans and locations private. Here is how you do it:

1. Select the list whose content you wish to hide on the map.

2. Tap on the three dots next to it.

3. Select the Hide on your map option.

Select the Hide on your map | Google Maps saved places list

This way you can easily hide saved lists.

Option 3: Change Privacy Setting

You can keep your list private or share it with others. The one with the link of your list can access and edit your list for better collaboration. To do so, follow the below steps:

1. Follow the first two steps from the previous heading.

2. Tap on Sharing options.

3. Choose Shared to share your list with others.

Note: You can also choose Private.

Choose Shared

4. Turn on the toggle for the Let others edit this list option to enable others to edit your list.

Turn on the toggle for the Let others edit this list option

Option 4: Delete List

The delete list option helps you keep your phone tidy and neat. You can do away with any unnecessary lists. This is how you do it:

Note: This option is only available for the lists that you have created and not the default lists provided to you. For them, you have to edit and remove the locations.

1. Follow the first two steps from the previous heading. 

2. Select the Delete list option.

tap on delete list

Now your saved place will be deleted.

Also Read: How to Remove Labels from Google Maps Map View

Plan excursions, find new destinations, and work with friends and family by using Google Maps saved places lists, which are a practical and well-organized approach to maintaining favorite spots. We hope you have understood how to create and share Google Maps saved places lists. Reach out to us in the comment section for any queries or suggestions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *