Home ยป How to

How Do I Reset My AWS Account

Unlock new growth opportunities in business by resetting your AWS account.

If you accidentally made changes or deletions in your AWS account, the best option is to wipe the account and start over. However, it’s important to know the proper steps to ensure a smooth and secure reset. In this article, we will guide you on how to reset your AWS account to its default settings for a fresh start.

How Do I Reset My AWS Account

How Do I Reset My AWS Account

There is no specific feature to reset an AWS account, but you can achieve a similar result by closing the account and creating a new account. Closing the AWS account will delete all your data associated with it. You can take the following actions to restore your Amazon Web Services account:

Quick Answer

To close and create your new AWS account, follow these steps:

1. Delete AWS Services and Resources from your AWS Account Management Console.

2. Then, remove Payment Methods to stop the automatic plan subscription payment.

3. Go to your Account section and Close Account.

4. Now, visit the Amazon Web Services homepage and create a new AWS account.

5. Complete the account creation by confirming the account details.

Note: All the information and resources connected to your Amazon Web Services account, such as EC2 instances, S3 buckets, RDS databases, and any other services you may have used, will be completely deleted if you delete your account. You are unable to retrieve any data or resources after deleting your account.

Step I: Delete AWS Services and Resources

Firstly, let’s the steps to create your AWS services:

1. Visit your AWS Account Management Console on your browser.

2. Now, enter the desired service name in the search bar and search for it.

3. Select the desired bucket and click on Empty.

4. Type permanently delete in the given field and then click on Empty.

5. Now, again select the emptied bucket and click on Delete.

6. Enter the bucket name in the given field to confirm the deletion and click on Delete bucket to complete the first step in resetting the AWS account.

Enter the bucket name in the given field to confirm the deletion and click on Delete bucket

7. Follow the same process to delete your Resources.

Also Read: What Happens If Your AWS Account is Terminated?

Step II: Delete AWS Payment Methods

The second step in closing your AWS account is to remove the payment methods from your AWS account. Let’s see how to do so:

1. Search for Payment Methods through the search bar.

2. Select the desired payment method and click on Delete.

3. Click on Delete again from the confirmation popup to move on to close the AWS account to reset it.

Step III: Close AWS Account

Lastly, follow these steps to delete your account:

1. Click on your username from the top right corner of the console page.

2. Then, click on Account from the drop-down menu.

3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to the Close Account section.

4. Select all acknowledgment checkboxes and click on the Close Account option.

Select all acknowledgment checkboxes and click on the Close Account option

5. Again, click on Close Account from the confirmation popup.

Also Read: How to Reset My Walmart One Account

Step IV: Create a New AWS Account

Now, you can create a new AWS account to start afresh on this platform and complete the indirect reset process.

1. Go to the Amazon Web Services homepage and click on Create an AWS Account.

2. Provide your account details and click on Verify email address to receive a verification code.

Note: Make sure that the account details you enter are different from the ones you used to create your previous closed account.

3. Enter the verification code and click on Verify.

4. Enter the desired password for your root user and click on Continue.

5. Select Business or Personal account type.

Select Business or Personal account type

6. Fill in your company or personal information and click on Continue to confirm your AWS account and get closer to finishing the desired reset process.

7. Open your email account and locate the AWS confirmation email.

8. Use the provided email address and password to Sign in to your new account.

9. Enter your payment method details and click on Verify and Continue.

10. Follow the onscreen confirmation instructions to create the account successfully.

Can I Delete and Recreate AWS Account?

Yes, you can delete and recreate your Amazon Web Services (AWS) account. You can remove your Amazon Web Services (AWS) account and open a new one, as explained in detail above.

Also Read: Is AWS Good for Startups?

Where Do I Find My AWS Credentials?

Your Amazon Web Services (AWS) login information is in the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Management Console.

Note: Amazon Web Services (AWS) access credentials provide access to your AWS services and should be kept private. Never divulge your access keys to third parties or store them in a public code repository.

We hope this guide helped answer how to reset your AWS account. You can now proceed with confidence and restart your AWS account whenever necessary. If you have any queries or suggestions, leave them in the comments section below.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *