How Do I Permanently Delete Someone From Messenger

Achieve a peaceful messaging experience by removing unwanted contacts.

Messenger is a platform for connecting with friends and family, but sometimes unwanted users can disrupt your experience. Are you being irritated by a user on Messenger and want to get rid of them? Relax and read below as our blog will guide you how to permanently delete someone from Messenger on Android phones.

How Do I Permanently Delete Someone From Messenger

How Do I Permanently Delete Someone From Messenger

While Messenger is a helpful tool to chit-chat with your friends and family, dealing with annoying and repetitive messages can make your experience unpleasant. Although Facebook doesn’t have a direct delete button, you can learn various methods to permanently remove someone from your account by reading this guide.

Quick Answer:

To delete someone from Messenger, follow these steps:

1. Navigate to your Contacts on Messenger.

2. Tap and hold the contact from the list and select Block  from the menu.

3. Tap on Block messages and calls to remove the person.

Can You Delete Someone From Messenger?

Yes, you can delete someone from Messenger. Deleting a user on Messenger means blocking or restricting them to avoid future conversations. 

To permanently delete someone from Messenger, follow the below-mentioned steps:

Note: Make sure you are logged into the Messenger app.

1. Open the Messenger app on your Android device.

2. Tap on People in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Tap on the People icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

3. Tap on the Contacts icon in the top-right corner of the screen.

Tap on the Contacts icon | How Do I Permanently Delete Someone From Messenger

4. From the contacts list, tap and hold the name of the user to open the menus.

From the contacts list, tap and hold the name of the user to open the menus.

5. From the menu, tap on Block.

From the menus, tap on the Block option | How Do I Permanently Delete Someone From Messenger

6. Next, tap on Block messages and calls.

Tap on the Block messages and calls option.

7. Tap on BLOCK from the dialog box to confirm and remove the user.

If you are an iOS user, then you can check out these steps by visiting How to Remove a Non-Friend from Messenger on iPhone.

How to Remove Someone From Messenger on Android Without Blocking

To remove or permanently delete someone from Messenger on Android without blocking, just follow these steps:

Note: It is not possible to remove someone without blocking them, but you can restrict them on Messenger.

1. Open Messenger and from chats, tap on the conversation which you want to restrict.

2. Tap on the information icon in the top-right corner of the screen.

Tap on the information icon in the top-right corner of the screen.

3. Scroll to the bottom and tap on Restrict under the Privacy & support section.

Tap on the Restrict option under the Privacy and support section | How Do I Permanently Delete Someone From Messenger

Does Deleting a Conversation Delete a User From Messenger?

No, deleting a conversation will not delete a user from Messenger. When you remove a conversation history on Messenger, it only gets rid of those conversations from your side. While it remains the same on the other side, and the person is liable to contact you again in the future. If you wish to remove a user from your Messenger, you will need to block them separately.

We hope you have understood how to permanently delete someone from Messenger, to avoid any unwanted conversations. If you have any queries or suggestions about the article, feel free to drop them in the comments section below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *