Facetime is a cornerstone for Apple Users when it comes to communicating through high-quality video or audio calls via iMessage. As an iPhone user, you might find new features being added with every update. Among these, the green Join feature has created quite a confusion, and you may be eager to find out its role in communication within the Apple ecosystem. This article will help you understand what the green Join button means on iMessage to resolve your doubts.
What Does the Green Join Button Mean on iMessage?
The Join feature appears in iMessage and Facetime applications on an iPhone. The main function of the Join button is to notify a person about an ongoing FaceTime call.
To put it simply, the Join on iMessage means a one-tap access to an ongoing FaceTime call that a group of people is having. If the call is still in session, you can join in by clicking on this button.
People in a group chat can connect on Facetime call in two ways:
- By accepting the call when the notification arrives
- By going into the chat and clicking on the join button in the top right corner
Also Read: Does iMessage Notify When You Screenshot?
Why Does It Say Join on Facetime in Messages?
iPhone users have two kinds of contacts on messages: Apple and Android users. As an iPhone user, you will be able to see the Join button option when you and the other person have activated the iMessage feature on your respective phones. Since iMessage is essentially a part of the messages app on iPhone, you will be able to see this option in messages, too, but cannot FaceTime or call Android users.
Why Does the Green Button Say Join on iMessage With One Person?
Although the Join button on iMessage with one person might be a little uncommon, it certainly can happen. The reasons why this happens are listed below:
- The specific person is on Facetime with another group member
- The specific person is on Facetime with another person but the call can be joined
- Simply a glitch in your iMessages
Also Read: Do iMessages Deliver When the Phone Is Dead?
What is the Green Camera Icon in a Non-Group Chat for?
When a Facetime call is established with another iPhone user, it can be accessed by going to the messages app or by going to the FaceTime app. Whenever a FaceTime call is in process, there is a green camera icon on a contact name section to denote the active call.
The functions work both ways. Whether you are on a group Facetime call or a one-to-one Facetime call, the camera icon next to your contact’s name will be green.
Why is the Group Facetime Call Button Still Green After Call?
Once your Facetime call is over, the green camera icon will no longer be visible. However, at times, the camera icon can stay green long after the call is complete. This is another example of a glitch that can happen due to several reasons.
Some of the reasons why this can happen are listed below:
- There is a network or Wi-Fi issue
- They might idle for a long time
- The software on the phone is not updated
- The other person’s phone might have died in between the calls, ending the Facetime call
You can simply restart your device or relaunch the messages app to get rid of the problem.
We hope this article has helped you learn what the green Join button means on iMessage. iMessage has a lot of amazing features, and the Join button is one such feature to help you join an active group call. Sometimes, you might see the green video call icon even due to a glitch. If you have any more questions or need further assistance, feel free to reach out. Also, stay tuned for more insightful articles!