How to Turn Off Admin Assist on Facebook Groups

Facebook’s Admin Assist feature was designed to help group administrators save time by automating certain tasks. However, some admins may find that automated actions don’t align with how they want their group to function. In such cases, turning off Admin Assist entirely is the best solution. This guide will explore how to disable Admin Assist on your Facebook group, as well as provide context around why should you turn it off.

How to Turn Off Admin Assist on Facebook Groups

Why Should You Turn Off Admin Assist?

While Admin Assist can be a useful tool, there are several reasons why a group admin may want to disable it:

  • Since Admin Assist operates based on pre-set rules, the automated actions may not always align with the guidelines of a particular group.
  • When Admin Assist automatically approves or declines members/content, admins will not know the reasoning behind those actions.

How to Disable Admin Assist

Follow the steps mentioned below to disable admin assist:

  1. Open Facebook and click on Groups on the left panel.
  2. Select the group you want to manage.
  3. Click on Admin Assist on the left panel.
  4. Click on the pencil icon on the right side of criteria.
  5. Click on Delete and then click on Delete again to confirm.
  6. Follow the same steps to delete each criteria.

Click on delete

Note: If you want to completely disable all automation, be sure to remove each and every criterion from the various sections.

Also Read: Facebook Group Admin vs Moderator: Roles Explained!

So this is how you turn off Admin Assist on Facebook Groups. If you have any queries or suggestions do let us know in the comments section below. Stay tuned to Techcult for more such helpful guides.

1 thought on “How to Turn Off Admin Assist on Facebook Groups”

  1. Avatar photo
    Susan Harrell Whaley

    Henry,
    I have never received anything from FB explaining the “Admin Assist” and that they would automatically turn it on for my Group. Why were the Admin’s not notified of this change?
    When I set up my FB Group, I set it up that I was the only one who could approve/disapprove a member or a post.
    Normally, I received an email notifying me that I have a member request or a post to be approved/disapproved. Today, I received an email with a post that needed to be looked out to decide if I wanted to approve or disapprove it. When I went to look at the post, it showed that it had already been “Automatically Approved” approved. It showed that the “Criteria Met for Approving” was the following: “This approval is based on posts you previous approved” – WHAT? To say I was shocked in an understatement. This is how I found out about the “Admin Assist” – not right!!
    I found your article on “How to Disable Admin Asist” – so I followed your instructions.
    and the only section that has a pencil icon is under “Manage Posts” and in bold it says “Approve member request if” – and in bold it has “Author is preapproved by an admin: You have 0 preapproved members . When I click on the pencil icon it has “Manage approved people” Do you have any idea what that means? There is no way to change this pencil icon, as no edit or delete comes up. Nothing at all.
    Does this mean that the “Admin Assist” is totally disabled. Thank you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *