How do I Remove a Shared Drive from Google Drive?

Don't need files anymore? Find out how to remove shared drives.

Google Drive is a cloud storage, file synchronization, and hosting service that allows users to share files and folders. After sharing and exporting files, you might not need a shared drive anymore. However, if you are not sure how to delete a shared drive from Google Drive this is the perfect guide for you. In this guide, we will explain how to remove files from a shared drive without deleting the drive itself.

How do I remove a shared Drive from Google Drive

How do I Remove a Shared Drive from Google Drive?

Shared drives help you collaborate with your teams and share data easily, with Google Workspace you can share multiple drives with your team to achieve greater productivity. However, when you no longer need data anymore, you can easily remove these drives from your Google Drive, let’s find out how.

Quick Answer

To remove the shared drive follow these steps:

1. Open Google Drive and go to Shared Drive.

2. Right-click on the drive and select DELETE SHARED DRIVE. 

Can I Delete a Shared Drive in Google Drive?

Yes, you can only delete a shared drive if you have the necessary permissions, which means either having administrator rights or being the owner of the shared drive.

Why you can’t Delete a Shared Drive?

If you are attempting to delete a shared drive but are unable to do so, there might be several possible reasons for this:

  • No Administrative Rights: To delete a shared drive, you need to either be the owner of the shared drive or have been granted administrative rights to do so.
  • Storage Limit Reached: If the shared drive has reached its storage limit, you may encounter difficulties when trying to delete it. Ensure that you have sufficient available space before attempting to delete the shared drive.

Also Read: How to Upload Pictures to Google Drive

How do I Remove a Shared Drive from Google Drive?

Google Drive is commonly used as a collaborative workspace for various purposes, such as project management. However, there may come a point where the project is no longer active. If you wish to remove a shared drive in such a situation, follow the steps outlined below:

Note: It is important to exercise caution as the shared drive will be permanently deleted for both you and the other users with whom it was shared. It is recommended to take a backup of the data before proceeding.

1. Open Google Drive using your Google Workspace account.

2. Click on Shared Drives from the tabs on the left side.

3. Right-click on the shared drive you want to delete, and then click on DELETE SHARED DRIVE.

Right-click on the shared drive you want to delete, and then click on DELETE SHARED DRIVE.

4. Click on DELETE SHARED DRIVE in the pop-up.

Also Read: How to Recover a Deleted Google Doc from Google Drive

How to Remove Access to a Shared Folder from Google Drive

If you are sharing a folder with colleagues or friends, you can remove access to a folder at any time. Use the following steps to do so:

1. Open Google Drive using your Google Workspace account.

2. Click on Shared Drives from the tabs on the left side.

3. Right-click on the shared drive you want to delete, and then click on Manage members.

Right-click on the shared drive you want to delete, and then click on Manage members

4. Select any member and change their access permission to “manager” while downgrading your own access permission.

5. Now, Right-click on the shared drive you want to delete, and then click on DELETE SHARED DRIVE.

6. Click on DELETE SHARED DRIVE in the pop-up.

Also Read: How Do I Send a Google Drive Link on WhatsApp

We hope this guide helped you figure out how to remove and delete a shared Drive from Google Drive. Please continue exploring our site for more helpful tools and guides. Feel free to leave any comments or questions in the space provided below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *